Christmas Books for Children

christmas_children

There are a multitude of children’s Christmas books and most of us can name one or two. There’s “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” by Dr. Seuss, “The Polar Express” by Chris Van Allsburg, the Berenstain Bears Christmas books, and lots of Disney inspired Christmas books. I thought I would share some lesser known children’s Christmas books. I bet you’ll find something you like!

xmas-kids


Ages 2-4

itsy-bitsy
Available on Amazon

“ The Itsy Bitsy Snowman” by Jeffrey Burton  (Author), Sanja Rescek (Illustrator). A fun and playful seasonal twist on “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” makes this favorite nursery rhyme perfect for wintertime!
The itsy bitsy snowman went sledding into town,
looking at the snowflakes softly falling down.
Out came his friends to lend a happy hand.
And everything was perfect in his winter wonderland.

Little ones will love this fresh winter spin on a classic nursery rhyme, as one little snowman sleds through a winter wonderland.

 

stinky-face
Available on Amazon

“Merry Christmas, Stinky Face” by Lisa Mccourt (Author), Cyd Moore. Fans of I Love You, Stinky Face, will love this Christmas story! Stinky Face loves Christmastime…but he still has plenty of questions. What if a big, wintry wind blows his Christmas tree away? What if one of the reindeer gets his antlers stuck in the branches that hang over the roof? Luckily, his imaginative Mama knows how to reassure him that Christmas will be magical!

 




Preschool to Second Grade

 

wish
Available on Amazon

“The Christmas Wish” by Lori Evert  (Author), Per Breiehagen (Illustrator). In the tradition of The Snowman, The Polar Express, and the many books of Jan Brett this cozy Nordic tale filled with extraordinary photographs will have readers of all ages believing in the magic of Christmas. This is one to pull out every year and savor.
Long ago, a brave little girl named Anja wanted to be one of Santa’s elves. So she leaves a note for her family and helps her elderly neighbor prepare for the holiday, then she straps on her skis, and heads out into the snowy landscape. From a red bird to a polar bear to a reindeer, a menagerie of winter animals help Anja make her way to Santa. A generous trim-size, matte cover, and foiled title make this a special book for the holiday season.

 

 

catch-santa
Available on Amazon

“How to Catch Santa” by Jean Reagan  (Author), Lee Wildish (Illustrator).  After waiting for days and days and days, it’s finally Christmas Eve. And that’s when you can try to catch Santa. . . .
From Jean Reagan and Lee Wildish, creators of the bestselling HOW TO… series, comes a delightful new offering, written again in a hilarious instructional style. Two sibling narrators give clever tips for “catching” Santa (be crafty! be clever! be gentle!) on Christmas Eve. Filled with humor and holiday warmth, this is a jolly read-aloud for the whole family to enjoy!

 

 

turkey-claus
Available on Amazon

“Turkey Claus” by Wendi Silvano  (Author), Lee Harper. Turkey needs Santa’s help so he won’t be eaten for Christmas dinner.Turkey is in trouble. Again. He made it through Thanksgiving without becoming a turkey dinner, but now it’s almost Christmas, and guess what’s on the menu? Turkey decides the only thing to do is to ask Santa for help. He sets off for the North Pole, but getting in to see Santa at Christmastime isn’t as easy as Turkey expected. It’s going to take all his ideas—and his clever disguises—to find a way into Santa’s house. After many hilarious attempts, Turkey comes up with the perfect disguise, and Santa has the perfect solution! In this holiday treat, a companion to Turkey Trouble, Wendi Silvano’s story is once again matched with the watercolor artwork of Lee Harper.


Ages 10+

 

snow-queen
Available on Amazon

“The Snow Queen: A Tale in Seven Stories” by Hans Christian Andersen (Illustrator), Sanna Annukka (Illustrator), Jean Hersholt (Translator). Hans Christian Andersen’s magical tale of friendship and adventure is retold through the beautiful and intricate illustrations of Finnish illustrator Sanna Annukka. Cloth-bound in deep blue, with silver foil embellishments, The Snow Queen is elevated from a children’s book to a unique work of art. It is an ideal gift for people of all ages.

 

 

 

stealing
Available on Amazon

“Stealing Christmas” by Matthew Sullivan  (Author). Seventh-grader Mitch Murphy never wanted anything as much as he wanted a Playstation 4. And he was on his way to getting one for Christmas, too. But when his cousins get into a blowout food fight on Thanksgiving, Mitch gets caught in the collateral damage, and they all lose their Christmas presents as punishment.
Stripped of the gift he spent the past year obsessing over, all hope is lost for Mitch … that is, until he discovers where all of the their presents are being stashed. Now, Mitch must corral his motley crew of cousins to help him pull off a heist to steal their Christmas–and his PlayStation–back. But just how far is he willing to go to get the gift of his dreams?

 

letters-xmas
Available on Amazon

“The Night of the Christmas Letter Getters” by Eldritch Black  (Author). It’s the most magical time of the year again. The snow is falling, the evenings are drawing in, the secret Post Office is open for business and the Christmas Letter Getters are out in force. Among them is Finley Stark, a small elf with big problems. He doesn’t know it yet, but there’s sinister forces at play.

Soon Finley finds himself being chased through the snowy Yuletide streets of a strange old city, pursued by trolls with dark, fiendish plans.

And candy in the oddest flavors…
The Night of the Christmas Letter Getters by Eldritch Black is a darkly whimsical tale of Elves, Trolls and festive frights.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Books for Children

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s