Moon Hunt: A People of Cahokia Novel

moon hunt
Available on Amazon

The third book in The Morning Star Series had me reading well past bedtime. Books one and two were gripping, but the events in this book are even more intense. From the Prologue when Morning Star admonishes Five Fists to not “execute her” after his death, my interest was piqued. I wondered who the “she” was who would achieve the Morning Star’s death.


Book Three, Moon Hunt, introduces new characters but wisely carries old characters forward. Cahokia had survived intrigue and murders; now they face a new threat. Whispering Dawn is being transported to Cahokia by Strong Mussel as the direction of White Water Moccasin, High Minko of the Sky Hand Muskogee to marry the Morning Star. She is not a willing bride. Defying her parents, she fell in love and ran away with Straight Corn. Now the young woman is being sent as a gift to the living god of Cahokia.

Even as Whispering Dawn and her guards head toward Cahokia, changes are taking place. Once again, the inner workings of the politics of Cahokia play an important role in the story. But it is the relationship between Fire Cat and Lady Night Shadow Star that becomes central to the tale. Fire Cat’s loyalty and dedication to the Lady result in some of the most exciting parts of the story.

Seven Skull Shield is forced to make a painful decision. The “thief” is one of my favorite characters. Along with his dog, Fart, he often provides humor in the midst of upheaval; sometimes he is the cause of the upheaval. His history and ongoing relationship with Wooden Doll come into play once gain.

I admire the way the Gears can weave these various storylines together to make a cohesive story. While the Morning Star is front and center, every character has a defined role and personality. Reading this series is like having a birds-eye view of Cahokia and the inhabitants that make it a complex society.

I hope there will be a few more books in this series. While the conclusion to Moon Hunt is satisfying, I would love to follow further adventures in the world of Cahokia.


“Moon Hunt is the third epic tale in the Morning Star series by New York Times bestselling authors W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear. Against the intricate majesty that was America’s greatest pre-Columbian city, the Gears have once again woven the latest archaeological data into a painstakingly accurate reconstruction of Cahokia and provide a rare look into the mystical underpinnings of Native American culture.

What happens when your god goes missing?

The lord god of Cahokia has been spirited away to the Underworld and the empire teeters on the brink of disaster as clans fight for control.

Night Shadow Star, the god’s human sister, and Fire Cat, her warrior bodyguard, are the only two people who can bring him back. They descend into the Sacred Cave where monsters dwell, willing to sacrifice themselves to save their kingdom.

What they find makes them question if that sacrifice is worth it.”

Cahokia Mounds Historic Site

One of the greatest cities of the world, Cahokia was larger than London was in AD 1250.


K Gear
Kathleen O’Neal Gear
W. Michael Gear

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.